RSS Feed

Ham and spinach savoury muffins

Posted on

IMG_0619

They look good, don’t they!  And they tasted really nice too!

Baking for our girls is not something I do often, just because I’m usually stumped by the lack of ingredients I can use.  But today I decided that it was about time I tried to come up with some baked staples for our family, given how little I can buy from the shop!  Finding a recipe online was a challenge but I finally came across one which I could adapt for the basic muffin recipe.  It is from a blog called Aunt Mae’s and you should check it out as she’s got other great looking gluten free and dairy free recipes, including plenty of muffin recipes and variations.  It was a simple recipe so we made it together, which felt really special, as although the girls often help me bake, they usually can’t then eat the finished product.  This time it was different and they were excited!

IMG_0613

Here’s the recipe, which is mostly Aunt Mae’s but with a few alterations and additions of my own…..

  • 100g precooked ham/bacon or similar – I used Mattessons sausage as it is one of our safe staples but you could also fry off bacon and chop it fine.
  • 2 blocks frozen spinach
  • 1 cup rice flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons gluten free baking powder
  • 1/2 cup oat milk (or other safe milk option)
  • 2 tablespoons sunflower oil
  • 1 beaten egg

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius (fan 190)

Finely chop the ham or alternative that you are using and set aside.

Defrost the blocks of spinach in the microwave and set aside to cool.

Combine rice flour, salt and baking powder in a large bowl.

Combine oat milk, beaten egg and oil in a separate bowl.

Once the spinach has cooled squeeze all the water out and chop it with scissors to break it up well.  If you want to use fresh spinach you would need to wilt it thoroughly in a pan and squeeze all the water out in the same way.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until just moistened.  Muffins don’t like to be over mixed so literally about 10 stirs should do it.  Dump in the ham and spinach and stir another 2-3 times to mix them through.

Line a muffin tin with muffin cases and fill each one around 3/4 full.

Bake for 18-22 minutes until they are slightly golden on top and spring back slightly when touched.  Place on a wire rack to cool.

Aunt Mae’s original recipe includes marmalade (although you could use jam or apple sauce) which makes them less crumbly.  We left this out and they held together OK without it.

IMG_0614  IMG_0622

Look at them!  And they were so scrummy that we all had a couple, in fact my 2 year old had 3!

Aunt Mae suggests some variations which I’m looking forward to trying.  We’re limited in options but you might like to try…..

  • blueberry
  • banana
  • apple and cinnamon
  • lemon poppy seed
  • cheese and mustard
  • herbs and onion

If we make any more I’ll add them but in the meantime please add your own variations or recipes below.  It would make my day!

About Jenni

Faith, family and food pretty much sums up my life! I'm a happily married Christian mum of three and I live in Liverpool in the UK. I enjoy being creative and love the challenge of parenting, although I'm a physiotherapist in my spare time. I hope you enjoy my efforts and musings.....!

4 responses »

  1. These look like they would work for us too, the rice flour would be lowish starch. Thanks for the idea.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m glad you’ll be able to use it Charlie! As Megan can have cheese I saw a nice savoury muffin recipe online which had cheese and mustard in it, a take on Welsh rarebit. Not an option for us but sounded really yummy.

      Like

      Reply
  2. This looks like such a nice recipe. The only two ingredients I’d have to substitute would be the ham as Jumpy always reacts to processed ham (I can always cook gammon and slice it thin) and egg (not sure what I could use to replace it with in this recipe… flax seeds maybe?). Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Mel. I think gammon would be lovely, and bacon would work nice too if you can use that. Not sure about the egg. Does the egg replacer stuff work ok? They’ve gone down well in our house but are nicer reheated in the microwave. Hope they work for you 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

