RSS Feed

Sugar-free chocolate spread!

Posted on

So the question is, what do you put on scones when butter, dairy-free spread, jam, honey and peanut butter aren’t options?

….Home made chocolate spread!  What a revelation, and what a simple recipe.

IMG_0808

All you need to do is blend up the following:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • a scant 1/2 tablespoon of a mild tasting oil (I used sunflower oil)

It seemed to keep fine in the fridge for 3 days at which point it was all gone so I don’t know if it would keep any longer!  I can’t eat bananas so my husband is the official ‘taster’ of anything I make containing bananas, and he says that it tasted great but quite banana-y.  The girls claim it tastes of chocolate, not bananas.  I’ll leave the final verdict up to you….let me know what you think!

This post has been shared on the FreeFromFarmhouse recipe linky.

Free From Farmhouse
About Jenni

Faith, family and food pretty much sums up my life! I'm a happily married Christian mum of three and I live in Liverpool in the UK. I enjoy being creative and love the challenge of parenting, although I'm a physiotherapist in my spare time. I hope you enjoy my efforts and musings.....!

8 responses »

  1. What a fabulous recipe and so simple! Sounds like you have your work cut out 😦

    Like

    Reply
  2. internationalelfservice

    This is such a good idea, thank you so much for posting!!! The kids can even make it themselves too. Not sure if you can have coconut cream (?) but one could also freeze the banana, add the cocoa and some cold coconut cream and have ice-cream.

    Like

    Reply
    • Glad you like the idea! We can’t do coconut cream but we’ve made ice-cream with frozen bananas and cocoa before and it went down very well! I’m sure the coconut would add a lovely texture. I’ve heard of someone making cookies using mashed banana and dessicated coconut before. It’s amazing what you can do with just 2-3 ingredients. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. so simple but I bet it’s yummy – got my bananas ready for the morning thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  4. I’ve been looking for a dairy free, nut free chocolate spread so I’ll have to try this. Thanks for linking up with #freefromfridays

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

