RSS Feed

Scones (free from many things)

Posted on

IMG_0809

 

These yummy looking scones are an adaptation of a hand-me-down recipe from my mum and went down very well with the homemade sugar free chocolate spread we concocted!  They also happen to be wheat, gluten, corn, cow’s milk, soya, and sugar free, plus low fructose/FODMAP friendly.

1)  Combine

  • 8 oz flour mix (I used 4 oz rice flour and 4 oz potato flour)
  • 3 tsp gluten free baking powder
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • a pinch of salt

(Note: depending on corn sensitivity you may need to source a safe xanthan gum and use sea salt rather than table salt).

2)  Rub in 2 oz of fat.  I used lard as we are limited in what oils we can use but dairy free margarine works well.

3)  In a measuring jug beat 2 eggs and add your milk option to make the total volume up to a 1/4 pint.

4)  Combine the wet and the dry ingredients and mix until they form a dough.  Knead together on a floured surface.

5)  Roll out to around 1 cm thick and cut out.

6)  Place on a greased baking tray and bake at 180 C for 10-12 minutes.

They are best served fresh out of the oven or else you can rewarm them slightly in the microwave.  My second batch was a bit dry but I’d picked up quite a bit of flour during kneading.  Keep the dough slightly sticky, as long as you can still work with it and they should come out OK.

The girls had them with homemade chocolate spread, which I will post about later in the week. Enjoy and let me know of any variations you came up with!

IMG_0810

About Jenni

Faith, family and food pretty much sums up my life! I'm a happily married Christian mum of three and I live in Liverpool in the UK. I enjoy being creative and love the challenge of parenting, although I'm a physiotherapist in my spare time. I hope you enjoy my efforts and musings.....!

2 responses »

  1. Gosh, that is very impressive! How on earth do you cope with so many things being avoided? You are a clever lady!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks. In some ways only having a few ingredients to work with means that you keep it simple and get more creative! Bananas are our best friend – they add sweetness and flavour and binding to everything. Only problem is, it’s one of the few things the girls can eat and ironically one of the few things I’m allergic too!!!! Thanks for commenting and popping by 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

