RSS Feed

Fluffy American Style Pancakes (free from nearly everything)

Posted on

20150214_101802

On Saturday we went round to our friends house for pancakes and I genuinely surprised myself by producing some amazingly fluffy and tasty ‘free-from’ pancakes for our girls. With Pancake Day looming on Tuesday I thought I would share them with you.  They are free from wheat, gluten, corn, cow’s milk, soya and sugar.

The recipe is originally from a Better Homes cook book I bought in Canada years ago and I simply adapted it.

Combine:

  • 2/3 cup rice flour
  • 1/3 cup potato flour
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1 teaspoon gluten free baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

In a separate bowl combine:

  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 cup milk option (I used oat milk)
  • 2 tablespoons mild tasting oil (I used sunflower oil)

Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just moistened.  The batter should be thick and gloopy so that it doesn’t spread in the pan.  Spoon enough to make a 3-inch circle into a hot and slightly oiled frying pan.  Once the underside is beautifully golden flip it over to cook the top side.  As the pancakes come out so thick I suggest you keep the heat quite low so that the middle has time to cook before the outer surfaces burn.

This recipe made 4 good sized pancakes.  Our girls had theirs with crispy bacon and ‘dippy eggs’.  My favourites are blueberries or crispy bacon with lots of maple syrup.  What will you have with yours?

20150214_101900

Corn allergy considerations: Corn hides in all sorts of things so if you are avoiding corn you need to be cautious about the xanthan gum, baking powder, salt and oil you use.  Pop over to this great page on Corn-Free Cooking and Baking courtesy of Free Eats to read about safe options.

 

About Jenni

Faith, family and food pretty much sums up my life! I'm a happily married Christian mum of three and I live in Liverpool in the UK. I enjoy being creative and love the challenge of parenting, although I'm a physiotherapist in my spare time. I hope you enjoy my efforts and musings.....!

5 responses »

  1. Hey, that’s spooky Jenni, I tinkered with a recipe just like this to post for you for pancakes, you beat me too it. Great you can have pancakes to join in the fun. Try adding a little bit of vanilla using a vanilla grinder (from waitrose) for extra flavour to your batter, that is really yummy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Great minds must think alike! The vanilla is a great idea. You should post your recipe on Sugar Free Life:)

    Like

    Reply
  3. I’ve got a similar version on my blog, which is egg-free too. The children both love them and I have to say there’s something very comforting about eating them. Of course, they’re best with some of the finest Canadian maple syrup, but honey works wonders too. I love the vanilla idea as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I’ve just had a look at your recipe…it looks great. I was wondering as I wrote this post how egg-free people would make these. Do you find the flaxseed works well as a binder? What do you think you would use in these pancakes to make them egg-free?

      Like

      Reply
      • I find the flaxseed meal is brilliant as a binder instead of egg and have made lots of cakes and biscuits with it too. It doesn’t interfere with the flavour of the pancakes, but does add some extra nutrition, which is always good! Otherwise, I guess if you were going for a “sweet” pancake then either some mashed banana or apple puree would also work well and add another flavour.

        Like

Leave a Reply

