RSS Feed

Toad in the Hole

Posted on

IMG_0837

Given my recent success with pancake batter and Yorkshire Pudding batter I thought I’d try my hand at Toad in the Hole, an occasional Friday night favourite for my husband and I before we had the girls.  This version is free from wheat, gluten, corn, cow’s milk and fructose friendly too.  And I’m pleased to say that it worked really well so will now be featuring as one of our increasing list of ‘altogether family dinners’.

Sausages are an issue when you have multiple food intolerances and fructose malabsorption due to the wheat (or maize if you buy gluten free), onion and garlic plus whatever else they throw in.  Our girls tolerate Mattessons precooked sausage though so that’s what I used for theirs although I’m on a mission to find an independent butcher who will make up real sausages for us based on ingredients the girls can tolerate.

If you can’t find sausages you tolerate then you could try this recipe with chunks of gammon and lots of safe veg.  From a fructose friendly angle you could also use garlic infused oil to add some more flavour.

Without further ado, here’s the recipe….

  1. Heat the oven to 220 C.
  2. Place some sausages (or similar) into an oven proof dish and pour in a generous glug of oil, enough to cover the bottom of the dish properly.  Make sure the sausages are well coated in the oil and pop it in the oven for 15 minutes.  If you’re using precooked meat or veg then just make sure it’s all up to temperature, which I’m guessing would take around 5 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, make up the batter in my Yorkshire Pudding recipe.
  4. Remove the hot dish from the oven, remembering to shut the oven door to keep the heat in.  Spread the batter over the sausages and return to the oven as quickly as possible to maintain the heat of the oil.
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden on top.

Remove and eat, ideally with lots of beef gravy!

About Jenni

Faith, family and food pretty much sums up my life! I'm a happily married Christian mum of three and I live in Liverpool in the UK. I enjoy being creative and love the challenge of parenting, although I'm a physiotherapist in my spare time. I hope you enjoy my efforts and musings.....!

Leave a Reply

